Jayankondam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Jayankondam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, BJP, PMK and PMK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Jayamkondam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

Jayankondam assembly constituency is a revenue block of Ariyalur district.In 2011 assembly election J. Guru Gurunathan of PMK won this seat with 92739 votes. P. Elavazhagan of the AIADMK got 77601 votes.

According to 2011 census, Jayankondam had a population of 33,945 with a sex-ratio of 1,031 females for every 1,000 males, much above the national average of 929. Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes accounted for 17.88% and 2.06% of the population respectively. The average literacy of the town was 72%, compared to the national average of 72.99%. As per the religious census of 2011, Jayankondam (M) had 92.63% Hindus, 4.53% Muslims, 2.42% Christians, 0.06% Sikhs, 0.01% Buddhists, 0.01% Jains, 0.31% following other religions and 0.03% following no religion or did not indicate any religious preference.

In Jayankondam huge amounts of lignite deposits have been found here and power projects have been initiated by the Neyveli Lignite Corporation.