Hosur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Hosur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are Indian National Congress, DMDK, BJP and BSP. In 2011 assembly election this constituency was won by the Indian National Congress under the leadership of K Gopinath.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the K. Ashok Kumar the AIADMK candidate a good lead of around 206591 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIDMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls and any major political party may claim this seat.

Hosur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

Indian National congress has been winning this constituency under the leadership of various leaders from the year 1977 to 2011 with the exception of 1996. In the 1996 election Janata Dal had won this constituency.

Hosur is a busy industrial town in the Krishnagiri district of Tamil Nadu. It is a perfect tourist gateway to Karnataka and known for its plentiful greenery and year round pleasant weather. It was originally part of Mysore kingdom. The categories of voters that play an important role in every election from this constituency are industrial labourers, cultivators and agricultural labourers and middle class population. This time too they have their roles cut out.