Gudiyattam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Gudiyattam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, IJK, PBM and LJP.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Gudiyattam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

Gudiyatham assembly constituency is reserved for Schedule caste. It is located in Vellore district. In 2011 assembly election from Gudiyatham (SC), K. Lingamuthu of CPI won polling 79416 votes. The runner up was K. Rajamarthandan of DMK who got 73574 votes.

Gudiyatham is a municipality in Vellore district. This is the place where the first Indian national flag was woven. According to 2011 census, Gudiyatham had a population of 291,558 with a sex-ratio of 1,029 females for every 1,000 males, much above the national average of 929.

Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes accounted for 16.8% and .1% of the population respectively. The average literacy of the town was 77.46%, compared to the national average of 72.99%.

As per the religious census of 2011, Gudiyatham had 81.58% Hindus, 16.96% Muslims, 0.98% Christians, 0.01% Sikhs, 0.01% Buddhists, 0.28% Jains, 0.16% following other religions and 0.02% following no religion or did not indicate any religious preference.