Attur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Attur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. The current MLA of the constituency is I. Periyasamy from DMK. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

Attur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Chinnathambi R M AIADMK Won
Arthanari S K INC 65493
Arthanari S K INC 65493
Amsaveni G PMK 18363
Adhithyan K P VCK 8532
Jayaseelan R KMDK 2413
Selladurai R IJK 1747
Sathishbabu S Naam Tamilar Katchi 1531
Mariyappan M P BSP 947
Vijayaragavan M IND 718
Lakshmanan S IND 395
Arun T IND 349
Periyasamy A IND 283
Murugesan C SP 247
Bakkiyaraj P IND 201

Electoral History and Background

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Attur is one of the taluks, or administrative division of Salem District. Attur is the legislative assembly that includes the city , Attur was part of Rasipuram (Lok Sabha constituency). This constituency is reserved for schedule caste. In 2011 election S. Madheswaran of AIADMK won this seat polling 88036 votes. The runner up was S.K Arthanari of Congress (INC) who got 57654 votes.