Ariyalur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Ariyalur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP and INC.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate M. Chandrakasi a good lead of around 128495votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily cement factories labourers and agricultural related voters will decide the verdict.

Ariyalur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rajendran. S AIADMK Won
Sivasankar. S.S DMK 86480
Jayavel. Rama DMDK 13599
Thirumavalavan. K PMK 13529
Vijayakumar. R IND 1348
Baskar. C IJK 1330
Manikkam. T Naam Tamilar Katchi 1146
Veeramani. T IND 995
Savarianandham. V BSP 675
Pazhanivel. P IND 577
Sathyaseelan. A LJP 291
Padmanaban. R IND 276
Matheshwaran. T Vidiyalai Thedum Indhiyargal Party 231
Krishna. K IND 182

Electoral History and Background

In the assembly elections of 2011 Durai Manivel, of the AIADMK party won this constituency. In the previous assembly elections of 2006 INC party won this constituency. The ADMK and TMC(M) have won this constituency once in the assembly elections. DMK party has won this constituency four times in the assembly elections. ADK party has won here two times. Indian National Congress has also won in the assembly elections in the year 1967.

The constituency of Ariyalur is a town and district headquarters of the Ariyalur district. The total population of Ariyalur is 69,55,2 substantial among them are rural population