Arcot Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Arcot legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, PMK and LJP.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. The current MLA of the constituency is Srinivasan from AIADMK. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Arcot Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Eswarappan J L DMK Won
Ramadoss.K.V AIADMK 73091
G.Karikalan PMK 35043
Udhayakumar P N MDMK 5387
Arulraman.D BJP 2648
Muruganantham.K IND 406
Sakunthala.A IND 359
Munuswamy.C LJP 272

Electoral History and Background

Arcot Assembly Constituency is part of Arakkonam Lok Sabha constituency. According to 2011 census, Arcot had a population of 55,955 with a sex-ratio of 1,014 females for every 1,000 males, much above the national average of 929. Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes accounted for 10.31% and .15% of the population respectively. The average literacy of the town was 79.32%, compared to the national average of 72.99%. As per the religious census of 2011, Arcot had 42.5% Hindus, 55% Muslims, 0.77% Christians, 0.01% Sikhs, and 0. % Buddhists, 0.51% Jains, 0.16% following other religions and 0.01% following no religion or did not indicate any religious preference.

Arcot is a city and urban of Vellore city. The city straddles a trade route between Chennai and Bangalore or Salem. Arcot is the principal market for the surrounding agricultural area. It also has a viable local weaving industry, and groundnut oil industry. Arcot is most famous for edible oil production, mainly focusing on groundnut and gingelly oil production.