Aravakurichi Assembly Election 2016

The Election Commission (EC) decided to postpone polling in Aravakurichi Assembly constituency to June 13 instead of holding it on May 23 as scheduled earlier. The Election Commission took the decision following large-scale distribution of money among voters to this constituency.

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Pukkarandi .V BSP -
Manivasagam .R IND -
Prabakaran .T IND -
Magudeeswaran .K IND -
Muthukumar .G IND -
Ravi .S.P IND -
Vigneshwaran .M IND -
Veeramani .T IND -
Kalaiyarasan .G MDMK -
Baskaran .M PMK -
Aravinth .G Naam Tamilar Katchi -
Subramani .V Gokula Makkal Katchi -
Natarajan. R KMDK -
Prabhu C.S IJK -
Mariappan .M TMMK -
Mohamed Mirza .R SDPI -
Rajesh Kumar .P PPI (S) -
Pitchaimuthu .T IND -
Baskar .P IND -
Balasubramani .K IND -
Senthilbalaji .V AIADMK -
Pallanishamy .K.C DMK -
Kannan .R IND -
Karthikeyan .M IND -
Krishnamoorthy .S IND -
Sasikumar .M IND -
Sampath .S IND -
Sundareswaran .M IND -
Senthilkumar .N IND -
Syed Abuthahir .T.M IND -
Thamilalagan .A IND -
Dasaprakash .K IND -
Thirukkumar .V IND -
Noyyal M.Ramasamy IND -
Palanisamy .K IND -
Palanisamy .P IND -

Current Trend

Aravakurichi legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Janata Dal Party (JDU).

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the M. Thambidurai AIADMK candidate a good lead of around 195247 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIDMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls; any major political party may claim this seat.

Aravakurichi was won by DMK two times in 2006 and 2011 under the leadership of Khaleelur Rahman.M.A and Pallanishamy K.C respectively. In 1996 and 1989 the seat was won by the DMK. Congress (INC) had won the seat only once in 1977.

Aravakurichi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Electoral History and Background

This constituency is a panchayat town in the district of Karur in Tamil Nadu. It is famous for its Drumstick. Aravakurichi is mainly an agricultural market place. The place is major truck stopover for trucks plying on the Highway, connecting Hyderabad, Bangalore, Salem and Madurai, Kanniyakumari.

Aravakurichi has 5,636 male and 5,636 female voters. The category of voters that play an important role in every election from this constituency is Farmers and Agricultural related business people. This time too they have their roles cut out.