Aranthangi Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Aranthangi legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, BJP, INC and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Aranthangi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rathinasabhapathy E AIADMK Won
Ramachandran T INC 67614
Loganathan P CPI 6341
Kulam Mohamed M SDPI 1741
Puviyarasan A IND 1238
Arul Justin Diraviam C TMMK 1176
Gemini Ganesan M IJK 922
Sakila Banu A Naam Tamilar Katchi 835
Narasimhan H IND 794
Xavier A BSP 720
Selvam K PMK 626
Venugopal G IND 562
Subburamu A IND 461
Sethu Madhavan K IND 222
Kuppusamy S IND 205
Muthupalani P IND 136
Kannaiya K IND 121
Abdul Jafaar S IND 119
Athmanathan P IND 84

Electoral History and Background

Aranthangi legislative assembly is unreserved seat situated in Pudukkottai district. It is part of Ramanathapuram Lok Sabha constituency. According to data with the Election Commission of India, Aranthangi constituency has a total of 1, 70,564 registered voters. It has 84,814 male and 85,750 female voters.

The AIADMK won this seat in the 2011 assembly elections. Raja Nayagam M., the AIADMK candidate, got 67,559 votes. His main contender, Thirunavukkarasar Su of INC, got 50,903. The winning margin was 16,656 votes, that is, 13.01 % of the total valid votes. The voter turnout was 75.07 %.