Arani Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Arani legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a triangular fight between DMK, AIADMK and DMDK. Other parties that may influence the voters are the Indian National Congress, the BJP and the BSP.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the V. Elumalai AIADMK candidate a good lead of around 243844 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

The AIADMK, DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls, any major political party may claim this seat.

The DMDK won the assembly elections of 2011 under the leadership of Babu Murugavel.R.M who won the seat with a margin of 88967 votes. He defeated DMK party candidate.

Arani Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ramachandran, S AIADMK Won
Babu, S DMK 86747
Rajasekar, S PMK 12877
Babu Murugavel, R.M DMDK 7025
Gopi, P BJP 1304
Mohanraj, J Naam Tamilar Katchi 872
Ramachandran, S IND 704
Sekar, K Gokula Makkal Katchi 607
Venkatesan, S IND 539
Sumathi, S IND 453
Ganesan, A BSP 413
Palani, P IND 373
Sakthivel , S IND 354
Ashokkumar, A IND 272
Babu, S IND 180
Ramachandran, V IND 163
Sasi, P IND 159
Ekambaram, V IND 151
Janakiraman, M SP 147
Jayachandran, S IND 145
Mani, D Sainik Samaj Party 127
Velu, P VVIP 110

Electoral History and Background

Arani is the municipality town in Tiruvanamalai district of Tamilnadu. It is at the border town of Vellore and Tiruvanamalai district. The main occupation of Arani constituency is agriculture. The category of voters that play an important role in every election from this constituency are farmers, agricultural labourers, cultivators, rice mills labourers and silk weavers. This time too they have their roles cut out.