Arakkonam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Arakkonam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, VCK and IJK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate G. Hari a good lead of around 240766 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which workers and labourers and other related voters will decide the verdict.

Arakkonam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rajkumar N DMK 64015
Arpudham PMK 20130
Gopinath G VCK 5213
C.Vijayan BJP 2021
Sudhakar P BSP 1641
Saravanan M Naam Tamilar Katchi 1038
Rajkumar B IND 373
Ravi V IND 278
Thangavelu P IND 146
Panju. Udayakumar IND 137
Elayaprabu K PPI (S) 129
Maran P LJP 95

Electoral History and Background

In the 2011 assembly elections S. Ravi of the AIADMK party won the constituency. In the previous election of 2006 the DMK party won the constituency. DMK party has won five times in this constituency. The Indian National Congress has won the constituency once in the assembly elections of the year 1991.

The constituency of Arakkonam comes under Vellore district. The economy is partially agro and partially industrial. There are 51% of male voters and 49% of the female voters registered in the electoral rolls.