Anna Nagar Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Anna Nagar legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are Indian National Congress, BJP, Indiya Jananaya Katchi (IJK), Youth and Students Party (YSP).

In the last Parliamentary elections in 2014, S. R. Vijayakumar of AIADMK won this assembly segment with a lead of around 45841 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIDMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls and any major political party may claim this seat.

Anna Nagar assembly seat was cleanly swept by the DMK in all the elections from 1977 except for the years 1991 and the year 2011. In the year 1991 Congress (INC) has won with a clear majority and in 2011 AIADMK party has won the seat with oversized majority. The present term is held by Gokula Indira S of AIADMK. She is currently the Minister for handloom and textiles.

Anna-nagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Mohan M.K. DMK Won
Gokulaindira S AIADMK 70520
Suresh K BJP 8820
Mallika Dayalan MDMK 6491
Akhilesh A M PMK 5619
Amutha N Naam Tamilar Katchi 2966
Kumaran P YSP 483
Saravanaraja P Valamaana Tamizhagam Katchi 370
Babu D IND 295
Balaji S IND 252
Timothy Moses CDF 173
Muthusamy M IND 126
Saravanan R IND 96
Varkees Tharuma Raj G Tamilaga Sthabana Congress 88
Thirunavukkarasu V Makkalatchi Katchi 85
Sivasankaran R IND 80
Yogeswaran D IND 77
Kannan S IND 54
Sofilet LJP 48
Ravi Kumar S IND 45
Bhuvaneswaran M IND 38

Electoral History and Background

Anna Nagar is located in the North western part of Chennai. It was formerly called as Naduvakkarai. Named after the former Chief Minister Annadurai, Anna Nagar has become one of the top residential places in the city. Anna Nagar has 1, 13,694 male and 1, 13,122 female voters. The categories of voters that play an important role in every election from this constituency are rich and upper middle class people. This time too they have their roles cut out.