Andipatti Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Andipatti legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BSP, BJP, JMM and IJK.

In the last assembly elections in 2011, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK a good lead. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the last assembly election.

The DMK, banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. The AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which different categories of people will decide the verdict.

Andipatti Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

Andipatti legislative assembly constituency that includes the city, Andipatti is part of the Periyakulam Lok Sabha constituency. It is a town in Theni district. Agriculture is the main economy of the town with handloom and textile mills spread across the city limits. In 2011 assembly election Thangatamilselvan of AIADMK won the seat polling 91721 votes. L Mookaiah of DMK got 70690 votes.

The town is known all over the state and country as having been the constituency of the two chief ministers: M. G. Ramachandran and J. Jayalalithaa. It is also well known for the incident when the late Chief Minister MGR won the MLA election in this place even without visiting this place for election campaign since he was admitted to SUNY Downstate Medical Center in Brooklyn, New York and became the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.