Anaikattu Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Anaikattu legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a triangular fight between DMK & AIADMK & PMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are DMDK and MMK.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the K. Parasuraman AIADMK candidate a good lead of around 126099 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Present MLA from Anaikattu is Kalai Arasu M. is of PMK. The AIADMK AND DMK have made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls and any major political party may claim this seat.

In the assembly elections of 2011, Kalaiarasu.M.of the PMK party won the constituency with 80233 votes. It won the assembly election defeating the DMDK party with a huge majority.

Anaikattu Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nandakumar A P DMK Won
Kalaiarasu M AIADMK 68290
Karunanithi E BSP -
Govindammal A RSP -
Sivakumar T SP -
Kathavarayan M GPI -
Sivaraj K Naam Tamilar Katchi -
Srinivasan R NMK -
Sudhakar M Vijaya Bharatha Makkal (People) Par -
Palani P S TMC(M) -
Pushparaj R PPI (S) -
Venkadesan P UMK -
Elavazagan K L PMK -
Mahalakshmi A IND -
Vijayakumar K BJP -
Elavarasan A IND -
Udhayakumar N IND -
Kalaiyarasan P IND -
Chandirasekar D IND -
Sampath G IND -
Nandakumar T IND -
Nandakumar M IND -
Nanthakumar V IND -
Balaraman M IND -

Electoral History and Background

Anaikattu is a Panchayat town in Pattukkottai District. Earlier Anaikattu was part of the Vellore district till the election in 2006. The principal occupation in this part of the area is agriculture. Farmers play an important role in every election from this constituency.