Ambur Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Ambur legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are BJP, BSP, INC, Muslim parties and INL.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the AIADMK candidate B. Senguttuvan a good lead of around 59393 votes. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

Banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK, the DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency, the AIADMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes.

It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which primarily leather industry labourers and Muslim people are the related voters will decide the verdict.

Ambur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results

Electoral History and Background

Aslam Basha.A of the MAMAK party won the constituency in the assembly elections of 2011. DMK party has won this constituency under the leadership of M. Panneerselvam twice in the years 1971 and 1967.

The constituency of Ambur comes under the jurisdiction of Vellore district. There are 78 revenue villages under this taluk. Ambur is popular known for leather industry.