Alangulam Assembly Election 2016

Current Trend

Alangulam legislative assembly election 2016 seat will witness a straight fight between DMK & AIADMK. Other parties that may influence the voters are the BJP and the BSP.

In the last parliamentary elections in 2014, this assembly segment had given the K. R. P. Prabakaran AIADMK candidate a good lead of around 126099 votes.

Present MLA for Alangulam is Rajendran P.G. from AIADMK. However, the situation in 2016 assembly election is completely different from the general election of 2014.

The DMK has made significant impact on the voters of this constituency. It is banking on the anti-incumbency factor of the ruling AIADMK. The AIDMK is holding on to its ground with its slew of welfare schemes. It is difficult predict the outcome of the polls for which the predominantly agriculturist voters will decide the outcome.

In the 2011 assembly P. G. Rajendran of AIADMK party won the constituency defeating DMK party candidate. The DMK party has won four times this constituency. The Indian National Congress has won this constituency twice under the leadership of Ramasubbbu S.S. during the assembly elections of 1991 and 1989.

Alangulam Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Dr. Poongothai Aladi Aruna DMK Won
K.Hepzi AIADMK 84137
R .Vasanthi Naam Tamilar Katchi -
S.Parthibarajan AIFB(S) -
Rajendranath DMDK -
P.Gunasekaran PMK -
V.Vaithilingam IND -
M.Ramar IND -
M.Muruganyadav IND -
V.Murugan IND -
Shanmugathai IND -
S.V.Anburaj Subramanian BJP -

Electoral History and Background

Alangulam is a Panchayat town in Tirunelveli District. It is a trading hub for nearby villages and is connected via road to the various towns. Alangudi constituency has 49% male voters and 51% female voters. Major occupation of Alangulam people is Agriculture. The category of voters that play an important role in every election from this constituency is farmers. This time too they have their roles cut out.