Uttarpara Assembly Elections 2016

In the coming assembly poll to Uttarpara in 2016, the main contest would be between CPM and Trinamool Congress which continue to hold its sway in the constituency. The constituency was once a bastion of the CPM. If the Congress and TMC go to the polls separately, the CPM may stand to gain. The BJP, though a competitive force, is not a serious contender for the seat.

Uttarpara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Prabir Kumar Ghosal AITC Won
Srutinath Praharaj CPM 72918
Krishna Bhattacharjee BJP 23687
None of the Above None of the Above 4444
Swapan Majumdar CPI(ML)R 1730
Suvendu Biswas IND 1458

Uttarpara is currently held by famous Bengali singer Anup Ghosal who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of Trinamool Congress by defeating the then sitting CPM MLA Dr. Srutinath Praharaj by a massive margin of 43193 votes. Srutinath Praharaj was elected from the seat in 2006. The Left parties have been winning the seat since 1951. Besides 2011, TMC had won the seat in 2001. However, in the 2003 byepoll necessitated by the death of incumbent TMC MLA Swaraj Mukherjee, the CPM wrested the seat when its candidate Jyoti Krishna Chatterjee defeated Indrajit Ghosh of TMC, Jyoti Krishna Chatterjee had also emerged victorious from the seat in 1996.

Situated in the Hooghly district in West Bengal, Uttarpara assembly constituency covers Uttarpara-Kotrang municipality, Konnagar municipality as well as Kanaipur, Nabagram and Raghunathpur gram panchayats of Sreerampur-Uttarpara block.

In the last assembly election to the seat, 217099 electors were eligible to vote. Of them 111129 were males and 105970 were female voters.

The semi-urban constituency of Uttarpara is one of the seven assembly segments in the Sreerampur Lok Sabha constituency.

Uttarpara Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found