Udaynarayanpur Assembly Elections 2016

Once a citadel of the Left frontUdaynarayanpur is now a stronghold of the TMC party. In the upcoming elections, the CPM is all set to give a tough fight to the TMC. After the 2014LokSabha election there is a rise in the fortunes of the BJP in this constituency. In all probability there will be triangular contest for the Udaynarayanpur assembly seat in the forthcoming assembly elections.

Udaynarayanpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Samir Kumar Panja AITC Won
Karar Saroj Ranjan INC 71070
Bhola Samui BJP 8356
Satyanarayan Rajwar IUL 2466
None of the Above None of the Above 1971
Banamali Gayen IND 1415
Pradip Maiti IND 1120
Debananda Maji IND 705

Samir Panja is the sitting legislator from Udaynarayanpur which he won by defeating his nearest rival and the then sittingCPM MLA Chandralekha Bag by a comfortable margin of 23891 votes. While Samir Panja polled 91879 votes, the CPM member received 67988 votes and was followed by BJP’s TapanDhara who got 3746 votes.

Prior to 2011, CPIM had been winning the Udaynarayanpur since 1977. While PannalalMajhi emerged victorious in 1977, 1982, 1987, 1991, NanigopalChowdhury represented the seat from 1996 to 2006. NanigopalChowdhury was succeeded by Chandralekha Bag who had defeated Samir Panja to win the seat in 2006.

One of the seven assembly segments comprising the parliamentary constituency of Uluberia, Udaynarayanpur is formed by the areas covred by Udaynarayanpur block as well as Balichak, Anulia, Kanpur, Basantapur and Khosalpur gram panchayats of Amta- 1 block.

Prone to floods, Udaynarayanpur is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Howrah district of West Bengal. In 2011 general assembly elections, 190753 people were eligible to vote in this assembly constituency. Out of these 101739 were male voters and 89014 were female electorates.

Udaynarayanpur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found