Tufanganj Assembly Elections 2016

Once a citadel of the Left, is now a stronghold of the TMC. However, CPM is all set to give a tough fight to TMC. There has been the rise in the fortunes of the BJP in the constituency after the 2014. In all probability there will be triangular contest for the assembly seat in the forthcoming 2016 assembly elections.

Tufanganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Fazal Karim Miah AITC Won
Shyamal Choudhury INC 69782
Bivas Sen Ishore BJP 30048
None of the Above None of the Above 2498
Manoj Kumar Mandal IND 1958
Nubash Barman KPP(U) 1744
Santana Datta SUCI(C) 1320

Samir Panja is the sitting legislator from which he won by defeating his nearest rival and the then sitting CPM MLA Chandralekha Bag by a comfortable margin of 23891 votes. While Samir Panja polled 91879 votes, the CPM member received 67988 votes and was followed by BJP’s Tapan Dhara who got 3746 votes.

Prior to 2011, CPIM had been winning the since 1977. While Pannalal Majhi emerged victorious in 1977, 1982, 1987, 1991, Nanigopal Chowdhury represented the seat from 1996 to 2006. Nanigopal Chowdhury was succeeded by Chandralekha Bag who had defeated Samir Panja to win the seat in 2006.

One of the seven assembly segments comprising the parliamentary constituency of Uluberia, is formed by the areas covred by block as well as Balichak, Anulia, Kanpur, Basantapur and Khosalpur gram panchayats of Amta- 1 block.

Prone to floods, is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Howrah district of West Bengal. In 2011 general assembly elections, 190753 people were eligible to vote in this assembly constituency. Out of these 101739 were male voters and 89014 were female electorates.

Tufanganj Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found