Tollyganj Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress is on a firm footing in Tollyganj assembly constituency which has been electing non-Left parties since 1996. Out of the nine wards that comprise the assembly constituency, seven were won by the TMC in 2015 while CPM emerged victorious in two. The coming 2016 election to Tollyganj will witness a triangular contest among TMC, CPM and BJP.

Tollyganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Aroop Biswas AITC Won
Madhuja Sen Roy CPM 80707
N. Mohan Rao BJP 14844
None of the Above None of the Above 3719
Dr. Dipankar Sarkar IND 1629
Manojit Maity SHS 1032
Debashis Das IND 572
Rajkumar Basak SUCI(C) 571
Jagannath Saha IND 216

Aroop Biswas is the sitting MLA of Tollyganj which he won on behalf of TMC in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM Partha Pratim Biswas by a margin of 27680 votes in a bipolar contest. While 102743 votes were polled in favour of Aroop Biswas, the CPM candidate received 75063 votes. Bibekananda Singha Ray, who entered the fray on the ticket of BJP, was placed third with just 2931 votes.

While Aroop Biswas was also elected in 2006, the seat was represented by Pankaj Banerjee of Congress from 1996 to 2006. Pankaj Banerjee, who was also elected in 1972, retired from politics after 2006.

Former health minister in the Left Front government Prasanta Sur had won the Tollyganj seat in 1977, 1982, 1987 and 1991.

Tollyganj assembly constituency is formed the areas covered by Ward Numbers 94, 95, 97, 98, 100, 111- 114 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC).

The urban assembly constituency of Tollyganj is located in the South 24 Parganas district in West Bengal. It is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Jadavpur.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Tollyganj, a total electorate of 234411 was eligible to vote. Of them, 116590 were males and the rest were women who numbered at 117821.

Tollyganj Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found