Taldangra Assembly Elections 2016

Though Taldangra is currently held by CPM, the TMC candidate from Bankura Lok Sabha constituency had led from this assembly segment in 2014 parliamentary general elections. Though the coming 2016 assembly elections will witness main contest between TMC and the CPM, the BJP will also garner a significant chunk of votes. Though reduced to an insignificant player in Taldangra, the Congress may harm the prospects of the TMC if the party goes in alliance with the CPM as is being speculated.

Taldangra Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Samir Chakraborty AITC Won
Amiya Patra CPM 73567
Mahadeb Khan BJP 11741
None of the Above None of the Above 3249
Tapas Kumar Ray JMM 2410
Sanjay Bauri BMP 1668
Radhakanta Banerjee JAP 1342
Pandab Saren IND 1131
Sisir Baran Ghosh SUCI(C) 1097

Taldangra is presently held by CPM whose member Monoranjan Patra won the seat fourth time in a row in 2011 by defeating TMC candidate Arun Kumar Pathak by a margin of 7165 votes in a bipolar contest. While Monoranjan Patra polled 74779 votes, 67614 votes were polled in favour of TMC nominee who was distantly followed by BJP’s Milan Singha Mahapatra whpo had to be satisfied with just 6,110 votes.

Earlier, Monoranjan Patra had won the Taldangra seat in 1996, 2001 and 2006. CPM has been winning the seat since 1977.

Taldangra is one of the 12 assembly constituencies located in the Bankura district of West Bengal. The constituency is formed by the areas covered by Simlapal block and Fulmati, Bibarda, Harmasra, Panchmura, Khalgram and Taldangra gram panchayats of Taldangra block. Brojarajpur and Gaurbazar gram panchayats of Indpur block also form part of the Taldangra assembly constituency.

One of the seven assembly segments that combine to create the Bankura Lok Sabha seat, Taldangra had a total electorate of 179758 in 2011. Of them, 94243 were males and the rest were female voters whose number stood at 85515.

Taldangra Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found