Sonarpur Dakshin Assembly Elections 2016

Apart from taking a lead from the Sonarpur Dakshin assembly constituency in 2014 general parliamentary elections, the Trinamool Congress had also won the 2015 election to the Rajpur Sonarpur municipality which forms part of the Sonarpur Dakshin assembly constituency. A weak opposition is the passport to TMC’s win in the constituency. The incumbent TMC legislator Jiban Mukhopadhyay has once again nominated to contest the coming 2016 election.

Sonarpur Dakshin Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Jiban Mukhopadhyay AITC Won
Tarit Chakraborty CPI 82426
Manoranjan Joddar BJP 15735
None of the Above None of the Above 3023
Ashitavra Mondal BSP 1649
Sambhu Mondal IND 1091
Minati Mitra SUCI(C) 1063
Jaladhar Naskar IND 810
Meghnath Halder MPI 632

Currently Sonarpur Dakshin is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by TMC legislator Jiban Mukhopadhyay who polled 100243 votes to defeat Tarit Chakraborty (Saheb) of CPM by huge margin of 37774 votes. Debasish Purkait of BJP was relegated to the third place with just 3618 votes.

Sonarpur Dakshin assembly constituency, which came into being before 2011 on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is formed by the areas covered by Ward Nos 8- 24 of the municipality of Rajpur Sonarpur as well as Kalikapur I, Langalberia, Kalikapur II, Pratapnagar, Poleghat and Sonarpur- 2 gram panchayats of Sonarpur block.

In the 2011 assembly election to Sonarpur Uttar, the constituency had an electorate of 197582. Of them, 102432 were males and 95150 were female voters.

Located in the South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Sonarpur Dakshin is one of the seven assembly segments comprising the parliamentary constituency of Jadavpur. Baruipur Purba, Baruipur Paschim, Sonarpur Uttar, Jadavpur and Tollyganj are the other six assembly constituencies within Jadavpur.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Sonarpur Dakshin, a total electorate of 202701 was eligible to vote. Of them, 104514 were males and 98187 were female voters.

Sonarpur Dakshin Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found