Sonamukhi Assembly Elections 2016

Like any other seat in the Bankura district, Sonamukhi was once a stronghold of the CPIM. CPIM, which showed signs of decline after being decimated in the last general assembly elections, is gaining strength to some extent. However, BJP cannot be set aside. It will depend on which party the Congress enters in an alliance with. TMC continue to remain on a strong ground to win the Sonamukhi seat in the forthcoming 2016 assembly election.

Sonamukhi Dakshin Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Ajit Ray CPM Won
Dipali Saha AITC 77406
Debjani Roy BJP 15118
None of the Above None of the Above 4811
Jayanta Lohar BSP 3575

Dipali Saha is the sitting TMC MLA of Sonamukhi which she won in 2011 by defeating Monoranjan Chongre of the CPIM by 7289 votes. In that election, the CPIM candidate polled 74910 votes and was followed by Madhab Bagdi of the BJP who received 7958 votes. Only three candidates entered the fray. Before that, the constituency has been sending CPIM member to the legislative assembly since 1969 barring one occasion when the seat went in favour the Congress in 1972.

One of the twelve assembly constituencies located in the Bankura district of West Bengal, Sonamukhi had a total electorate of 180448 in 2011. Of them, 95219 were males and the rest female votes. Out of the total electors, 165161 exercised their votes in the election in 2011.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Bishnupur Lok Sabha seat, Sonamukhi centres on Sonamukhi municipality and also includes in its domain Sonamukhi block and Belut Rasulpur, Beersingha, Hamirpur, Narayanpur and Patrasayar gram panchayats of Patrasayer block. The seat is reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes.

Sonamukhi Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found