Shyampur Assembly Elections 2016

Shyampur has been electing non Left parties even during the hey-days of Left Front. The upcoming 2016 assembly election to Shyampur will witness triangular fight among TMC, Forward Block and BJP which has also become a force to reckon with. Despite overwhelming anti-incumbency sentiment, Trinamool Congress is well placed in Shyampur assembly constituency due to the failure of the opposition parties to connect with the voters. The incumbent TMC legislator has once again been fielded for 2016 assembly elections.

Sujapur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Isha Khan Choudhury INC Won
Abu Nasar Khan Choudhury AITC 50252
Nandan Kumar Ghosh BJP 10393
None of the Above None of the Above 2542
Sekh Wased Ali IND 1642
Sadhan Chatterjee IND 734
Md. Rajiul Islam IND 633
Md. Gul Hasan JESM 519
Md. Touhid Sk IND 473
Nasmul Hoque PDS 433
Pulak Gupta BJP 427
Manjur Alahi Munshi IND 291
Md. Sariful Alam IND 247
Md.Munna Khan IND 216
Pankaj Rishi JMM 210
Abdul Karim BMP 152

Currently Shyampur is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by TMC legislator Kalipada Mandal who polled 99501 votes to trounce Minati Pramanik of CPM by handsome margin of 34619 votes. Gour Mohan Das of BJP was relegated to the third place with just 7297 votes.

Kalipada Mandal had also won Shyampur assembly seat in 2001 and 2006.

Dingakhola, Baneswarpur I, Baneswarpur II, Radhapur, Kamalpur and Syampur gram panchayats of Shyampur- 1 block are covered by Shyampur assembly constituency which also conatins Amardaha, Bachhri, Dihi Mondalghat I, Kharuberia, Dihi Mondalghat II, Nakol, Shashati and Bargram gram panchayats of Shyampur- 2 block.

The predominantly rural constituency of Shyampur is one of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Howrah district of West Bengal. It is one of the seven assembly segments comprising the parliamentary constituency of Uluberia. Uluberia Purba, Uluberia Uttar, Uluberia Dakshin, Bagnan, Amta and Udaynarayanpur are other six assembly constituencies within Uluberia.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Shyampur, the constituency had a total of 208848 electors. Of them, 108362 were males and 100486 were female voters.

Shyampur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Kalipada Mandal AITC Won
Amitabha Chakraborty INC 82033
Mousumi Biswas BJP 8075
None of the Above None of the Above 1524
Kalipada Mondal IND 993
Saiyad Samsul Hak IUL 942
Pradip Mandal SUCI(C) 737
Sakti Charan Das IND 708

Shyampur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found