Shyampukur Assembly Elections 2016

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, while Trinamool Congress had led from the Shyampukur assembly constituency, BJP was the runner-up relegating CPM to the third place. BJP had received a mere 3.65 per cent votes in this constituency in 2011. Out of the eleven wards that comprise the assembly constituency, seven were won by the TMC in 2015 while CPM emerged victorious in two. BJP and Independent won in one in each. The coming 2016 election to Shyampukur will witness a triangular contest among TMC, Left and BJP.

Shyampukur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Shashi Panja AITC Won
Piyali Pal AIFB 40352
Somabrata Mandal BJP 18378
None of the Above None of the Above 2700
Subir Samanta SUCI(C) 619
Tarkesh Rai IND 473
Sampa Basu IND 262
Bikash Dey IND 203
Ashim Das IND 173
Chhaya Ghosh IND 149

Dr. Shashi Panja is the sitting MLA of Dr. Shashi Panja which he won on behalf of TMC in 2011 by defeating the sitting Forward Bloc MLA Jiban Prakash Saha by a margin of 27036 votes in a bipolar contest. While 185859 votes were polled in favour of Shashi Panja, Jiban Prakash Saha received 82441 votes and was followed by BJP’s Ganesh Kumar Dhanania who received only 4598 votes.

Jiban Saha had won the seat in 2006.

Shyampukur assembly constituency is formed the areas covered by Ward Numbers 7-10, 17-21, 24 and 26 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation (KMC).

The urban assembly constituency of Shyampukur is located in north Kolkata. It is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Kolkata Uttar. Chowranghee, Entally, Beleghata, Jorasanko, Maniktala and Kashipur Belgachhia are the other six within Kolkata Uttar Lok Sabha constituency.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Shyampukur, a total electorate of 185859 was eligible to vote. Of them, 103418 were males and the rest were women whose number stood at 82441.

Shyampukur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found