Sandeshkhali Assembly Elections 2016

Communist party of India (Marxists), the largest constituent of the Left Front in West Bengal, has never lost an election to Sandeshkhali since 1977. A bastion of CPM, Sandeshkhali had elected a CPM member in 2011. However, the BJP has the potential of cutting into the votes of both TMC and the CPM, thereby upsetting the calculations. An alliance with the Congress may increase the chances of the CPM.

Sandeshkhali Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sukumar Mahata AITC Won
Nirapada Sardar CPM 58366
Sukumar Sardar BJP 23841
None of the Above None of the Above 2952
Manib Sardar AMB 1890
Ramkrishna Munda (Sardar) BSP 1686
Krishna Pada Munda SUCI(C) 1218
Harish Chandra Sardar IND 1010

Currently held by Nirapada Sardar, Sandeshkhali assembly seat had elected him in 2011 on behalf of CPM. In that election, Nirapada Sardar had polled 66815 votes to defeat his nearest rival and TMC candidate Padma Mahato by a margin of 4232 votes.

Sukumar Sardar, who entered the fray as a candidate of the BJP, was relegated to the third place with 17,425 votes.

One of the thirty-four assembly constituencies located in the North-24 Parganas district in West Bengal, Sandeshkhali is constituted by the areas coered by Bayermari I, Bayermari II, Nazat I, Hathgachhi, Nazat II, Sarberia, Sohara Radhanagar, Agarhati and Kalinagar gram panchayats of Sandeshkhali- 1 block. Beramajur I, Durgamandap, Beramajur II, Korakati, Jeliakhali, Manipur and Sandeshkhali gram panchayats of Sandeshkhali- 2 block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled tribes, Sandeshkhali is one of the seven assembly constituencies falling within the Basirhat parliamentary constituency/. Sandeshkhali was a reserved seat for scheduled castes from 1977 to 2011.

In the 2011 assembly election to Sandeshkhali, the constituency had a total electorate of 172416. Of them, 91089 were males and 81327 were female voters.

Sandeshkhali Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found