Salboni Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress is maintaining its sway in the Salboni assembly constituency and is well placed. The party whose fortunes have risen in the aftermath of the Nandigram violence in 2007, .has won the Salboni co-operative body by winning all 59 seats uncontested. What favours the TMC is the decline of the opposition parties especially the Left Front. BJP is not a force to reckon with in Salboni.

Salboni Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Srikanta Mahata AITC Won
Shyam Sundar Pandey CPM 67583
Dhiman Kolay BJP 23965
Goutam Kouri SHS 4402
None of the Above None of the Above 2551
Animesh Mahata AJSU Party 1810
Satish Singh IND 1454
Kalipada Mahato SUCI(C) 1232

Salboni assembly constituency is currently represented by TMC’s Srikanta Mahata who won the seat in 2011 by defeating Abhiram Mahata of the CPM by a margin of 4355 votes. In that election while 92082 votes were polled by Srikanta Mahata, the CPM member received 87727 votes and was followed by BJP’s Dhiman Kumar Kolay who secured 5,439 votes.

Earlier, Khagendra Nath Mahata of CPM had emerged victorious from Salboni in 1996, 2001 and 2006. The seat was represented by Sundar Hazra of CPM from 1977 to 1996.

Located in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal, Salboni assembly constituency is formed by the areas covered by Bhimpur, Debgram, Bishnupur, Shalboni and Lalgeria gram panchayats of Salboni block, Gohaldanga, Goaltor, Jeerapara, Patharpara, Makli and Pingbani gram panchayats of Garhbeta -2 block, and Garhbeta – 3 block.

Salboni is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of Garbeta. Jhargram. Nayagram, Gopiballavpur, Jhargram, Binpur and Bandwan are the other six.

208500 people were eligible to votes in 2011 assembly election to Salboni. Of them 107764 were male voters and 100736 were women.

Salboni Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found