Sainthia Assembly Elections 2016

Though CPM was able to win the newly created assembly constituency of Sainthia in 2011, the party’s vote share has fallen and its organizational network is no longer robust. On the other hand TMC doesn’t have the luxury of Congress votes as was the case in 2011 when the party was in alliance with the latter. BJP has some pockets of influence.

Sainthia Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nilabati Saha AITC Won
Dhiren Bagdi CPM 64765
Piya Saha BJP 24029
None of the Above None of the Above 2599
Paban Kumar Bagdi IND 1860
Naba Kumar Das SUCI(C) 1534

Sainthia is currently represented in the Legislative Assembly by CPIM whose legislator Dhiren Bagdi won it in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival Parikhit Bala of Trinamool Congress by a margin of 4318 votes. In that only election to the seat, while 77512 votes were polled in favour of Dhiren Bagdi, the TMC candidate received 73194 and was followed by BJP’s Shibnath Saha who got 8,786 votes.

Earlier Dhiren Bagdi was elected from the erstwhile Mahammad Bazar assembly constituency in 2006.

One of the eleven assembly constituencies located in the Birbhum district of West Bengal, Sainthia is reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes. The constituency is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Birbhum parliamentary constituency. Sainthia, came into being before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission.

In 2011, 190105 people were eligible to cast their votes in the Sainthia assembly constituency. Of them, 99198 were male voters and 90907 were women.

The Sainthia municipality and the Suri–II block are included in the Sainthia assembly constituency, which also contains the gram panchayats of Banagram, Deriapur, Horisara, Fulur, Hatora and Mathpalsa of Sainthia block and Angargaria, Charicha, Bhutura, Mahammad Bazar, Deucha and Puranagram under the Mahammad Bazar block.

Sainthia Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found