Sagardighi Assembly Elections 2016

Though currently held by Trinamool Congress, Sagardighi is poised to witness a triangular fight between TMC, Congress and Left Front. As is the case with most of the constituencies of Murshidabad district, Adhir Chowdhury, Congress MP from Behrampur, holds a strong sway in Sagardighi. A division of votes between Congress and TMC will enhance the fortunes of the CPM. BJP is not a serious challenger in Sagardighi.

Sagardighi Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Subrata Saha AITC Won
Aminul Islam INC 39603
Rajab Ali Mallick CPM 39385
Samsul Hoda IND 31920
Debsharan Ghosh BJP 7358
Badrul Sk SDPI 2725
None of the Above None of the Above 1969
Kanika Chakroborty (Das) IND 1672
Mirza Lutful Hoque SUCI(C) 1416

Sagardighi is currently held by the TMC whose candidate Subrata Saha won it in 2011 by defeating his nearest CPM rival Ismail Sekh by 4576 votes in a bipolar contest. While in that election, Subrata Saha, a minister in the Mamata government, polled 54,708 votes, the CPM candidate received 50,134 votes and was followed by independent candidate Aminul Islam who got 22,402 votes. Aminul Islam was backed by Adhir Chowdhury in spite of the fact that Congress was in alliance with the TMC in 2011.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Jangipur parliamentary constituency in West Bengal, Sagardighi is composed of Sagardighi block. Jangipur, Suti, Raghunathganj, Nabagram , Lalgola and Khargram are other six assembly segments in Jangipur Lok Sabha constituency.

Sagardighi, one of the twenty two assembly segments located in the Murshidabad districts, had an electorate of 168136 in the last assembly poll to the seat in 2011. Out of the total electors, 86301 were male voters. The rest of the electors were females who numbered at 81835.

Sagardighi Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found