Sabang Assembly Elections 2016

Sabang was a stronghold of Congress leader Manas Bhunia who has won the seat six times. However he had trailed from the segment in 2014 when he contested the Ghatal Lok Sabha seat. A division of votes between Trinamool Congress and Congress will put the CPM in good stead. BJP is not a force to reckon with in this constituency.

Sabang Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Manas Ranjan Bhunia INC Won
Nirmal Ghosh AITC 77820
Kashinath Basu BJP 5610
Dinesh Maikap SUCI(C) 2486
None of the Above None of the Above 1489

Currently represented in the West Bengal legislative assembly by Manas Ranjan Bhunia, Sabang assembly constituency had elected him in 2011. He had defeated Rama Pada Sahoo of CPM by a comfortable margin of 13184 votes in a bipolar contest. In that election Manas Bhunia, former minister and president of the state Congress, polled 98755 votes, the CPM nominee secured 85571 votes and was distantly followed by the BJP’s Sabyasachi Sau who secured just 2,507 votes.

Earlier, Manas Bhunia has also won the Sabang assembly seat in 1982, 1987, 1991, 2001 and 2006.

One of the nineteen assembly constituencies located in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal, Sabang is constituted by areas covered by Sabang block as well as Maligram, Jalchak I and Jalchak II gram panchayats of Pingla block.

Sabang is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of Ghatal. Panskura Paschim, Pingla, Debra, Daspur, Ghatal and Keshpur are other six assembly constituencies within the Ghatal Lok Sabha seat.

In the 2011 assembly election to Sabang, 206439 electors were eligible to vote. Of them, 106902 were male voters and 99537 were women.

Sabang Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found