Ranaghat Dakshin Assembly Elections 2016

A division of votes among the opposition parties may see Trinamool Congress through. In West Bengal TMC is well placed because it will be triangular fight in the coming assembly elections whereas it was a two way affair before this. Since the contest is very close, the party, which enters into an alliance with the Congress, will have a slight edge

Ranaghat Dakshin Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Rama Biswas CPM Won
Abir Ranjan Biswas AITC 86906
Susmit Ranjan Haldar BJP 18114
None of the Above None of the Above 3640
Prasanta Biswas BSP 2407
Tushar Biswas IND 1490
Manmatha Biswas NDPI 1050
Bibhuti Mondal IND 790
Tapan Halder IND 659

Ranaghat Dakshin assembly seat is currently held by its sitting MLA Abir Ranjan Biswas who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of the TMC by defeating CPM nominee Aloke Das by a good margin of 19608 votes. While Abir Biswas polled votes, the CPM member received 79824 votes and was followed by BJP’s Benoy Bhusan Roy who secured only 8934 votes.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Ranaghat Dakshin assembly constituency is situated in the Nadia district in West Bengal.

Apart from Cooper's Camp notified area as well as Anishmali, Debagram, Baidyapur I, Baidyapur II, Majher Gram, Shyamnagar, Nokari and Raghunathpur Hijuli I gram panchayats of Ranaghat-2 block, Ranaghat Dakshin constituency contains in its territorial domain Anulia, Nawpara Masunda, Habibpur, Payradanga, Tarapur and Ramnagar II gram panchayats of Ranaghat-1 block.

Ranaghat Dakshin is one of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Ranaghat parliamentary constituency. Other six assembly segments are Nabadwip, Santipur, Ranaghat Dakshin, Krishnaganj, Ranaghat Uttar Purba and Chakdaha.

In the last general assembly elections in 2011, Ranaghat Dakshin was home to 222418 electors out of whom 114975 were male voters and 107443 were women franchisers.

Ranaghat Dakshin Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found