Ramnagar Assembly Elections 2016

Internal factionalism in the Trinamool Congress may dent the prospects of the party in the coming assembly elections. Akhil Giri, the sitting Ramnnagar MLA, and Sisir Kumar Adhikari, the incumbent TMC MP from Kanthi Lok Sabha seat, are at odds with each other. However, CPM is still not able to win the confidence of the people who were disenchanted with its long rule of 34 years. While the BJP has some areas of influence in the constituency, the Congress has been reduced to a non-entity and would hope for an alliance with the Left Front to materialize.

Ramnagar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Akhil Giri AITC Won
Tapas Sinha CPM 78828
Tapan Kar BJP 12186
None of the Above None of the Above 1694
Prodorshi Ghosh LJP 902
Prabir Kumar Misra BNP 774
Dhananjoy Dalai IND 628

Currently Ramnagar is represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by Akhil Giri who avenged his defeat by trouncing the then sitting CPM MLA Swadesh Ranjan Nayak in 2011 by a margin of 16559 votes in 2011. In that election while 93,801 votes were polled by Akhil Giri, Swadesh Ranjan Nayak received 77,242 votes and was followed by BJP’s Satya Ranjan Das who got 4,507 votes.

Earlier in 2006 Swadesh Ranjan Nayak had defeated Akhil Giri who was elected from the seat in 2011. The CPM candidates had represented the seat from 1987 to 2011.

One of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Purba Medinipur of west Bengal, Ramnagar is formed by areas covered by the blocks of Ramnagar-1 and Ramnagar-2. Ramnagar is one of the seven assembly segments that are within the jurisdiction of the Lok Sabha constituency of Kanthi.

In the 2011 assembly election to Ramnagar, there was a total electorate of 203723. Out of the total electors, 105583 were males and 98140 were females.

Ramnagar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found