Rajganj Assembly Elections 2016

The fast eroding base of the Left and the Congress gives Trinamool Congress an edge in the Rajganj assembly constituency. BJP has also made substantial inroads in the constituency. The coming 2016 assembly election to the seat will be a triangular fight among TMC, CPM and BJP. The Congress will play as catch-up.

Rajganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Khageswar Roy AITC Won
Satyendra Nath Mondal CPM 75108
Prakash Chandra Roy BJP 17811
None of the Above None of the Above 3525
Hriday Roy KPP(U) 3471
Arun Barman SUCI(C) 3027
Rajat Roy BSP 1804

Currently represented by the Trinamool Congress legislator Khageswar Roy, Rajganj was won by him 2011 by defeating Amulya Kumar Roy of CPIM by 7020 votes in a direct contest. While 74546 votes were polled in favour of Khageswar Roy, the CPIM candidate received 67526 votes and was remotely followed by Supen Roy of BJP with 8038 votes.

In 2006 Rajganj was won by CPM’s Mahendra Kumar Roy who vacated the seat after his election to the Lok Sabha from Jalpaiguri Lok Sabha constituency in 2009. In the bye-election following Roy’s resignation Khageswar Roy emerged victorious on behalf of TMC. Mahendra Kumar Roy lost to TMC’s Bijoy Chandra Barman in 2014 parliamentary elections.

One of the assembly constituencies located in the Jalpaiguri district of West Bengal, Rajganj is composed of Kukurjan, Binnaguri, Majhiali, Mantadari, Sannyasikata, Panikauri, Sikarpur and Sukhani gram panchayats of Rajganj block, and Belakoba, Baropatia Nutanabos, Paharpur and Patkata gram panchayats of Jalpaiguri block.

In 2011 assembly election, Rajganj had an electorate of 178412, out of which 94336 were male voters and 84076 were females.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes, Rajganj Assembly seat has a sizable Nepali electorate. It is one of the seven assembly segments within Jalpaiguri parliamentary constituency.

Rajganj Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found