Rajarhat New Town Assembly Elections 2016

In 2015 election to Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation which forms part of Rajarhat New Town, Trinamool Congress had decimated CPM and BJP. CPM tried to replicate the Siliguri success in the municipal elections by fielding former finance minister in the Left front government Asim Dasgupta as the mayoral candidate who himself lost the elections. Needles to say, TMC has the edge in the constituency.

Rajarhat New Town Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sabya Sachi Dutta AITC Won
Narendra Nath Chatterjee (Balai CPM 81478
Nupur Ghosh BJP 17877
Sk. Md. Salim WPI 3087
None of the Above None of the Above 2332
Samir Sarddar IND 1998
Bhaskar Roy BSP 1447

Sabyasachi Dutta is the sitting TMC MLA of Rajarhat New Town assembly seat which he won by defeating his nearest CPM rival Tapash Chatterjee by a margin of 7747 votes in 2011. In that election, while Sabyasachi Dutta polled 80738 votes, the CPM nominee received 72991 votes and was followed by BJP’s Priyalal Dutta who got 3,827 votes.

Sabyasachi Dutta is also the Mayor of Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation.

Located in North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Rajarhat New Town assembly constituency is formed the areas covered by Rajarhat block and Ward Nos. 1-5, 12-14, 20, 21 and 27 of Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation.

Rajarhat New Town assembly constituency, which came into being before the 2011 assembly elections following the bifurcation of the erstwhile Rajarhat constituency, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Barasat. Habra, Ashoknagar, Bidhannagar, Madhyamgram, Barasat and Deganga are other six assembly constituencies within Braasat Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the latest figures released by the Election Commission of India, Rajarhat New Town assembly constituency has a total electorate of 1,84,101, out of which 96,782 are male voters and 87,319 are females.

Rajarhat New Town Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found