Rajarhat Gopalpur Assembly Elections 2016

In 2015 Trinamool Congress had won the Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation and South Dum Dum municipality which form part of the Rajarhat Gopalpur assembly constituency. The party had also led from this assembly segment in 2014 Lok Sabah polls. All this boils down to the dominance of the TMC in this constituency where CPM and BJP will try to increase their vote share in the coming 2016 elections.

Rajarhat Gopalpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Purnendu Basu AITC Won
Nepaldeb Bhattacharjee CPM 65919
Dilip Mitra BJP 19683
None of the Above None of the Above 3780
Ranjit Kumar Dutta IND 1244
Shyamal Mondal IND 895

Purnendo Bose is the sitting TMC MLA of Rajarhat Gopalpur assembly seat which he won by defeating his nearest CPM rival Robin Mondal by a handsome margin of 35725 votes in 2011. In that election, while Purnendo Bose, a minister in the TMC government, polled 89829 votes, the CPM nominee received 54104 votes and was followed by BJP’s Manoranjan Das who got 3,837 votes.

Located in North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Rajarhat Gopalpur assembly constituency is formed the areas covered by Ward Nos.18 and 21-27 of South Dum Dum municipality and Ward Nos. 6-11, 15 - 19 and 22-26 of Bidhannagar Municipal Corporation.

Rajarhat Gopalpur assembly constituency, which came into being before the 2011 assembly elections following the bifurcation of the erstwhile Rajarhat constituency, is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Dum Dum. Khardaha, Dum Dum Uttar, Panihati, Kamarhati, Baranagar and Dum Dum are other six assembly constituencies within Dum Dum Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the latest figures released by the Election Commission of India, Rajarhat Gopalpur assembly constituency has a total electorate of 1,92,748, out of which 97,863 are male voters and 94,885 are females.

Rajarhat Gopalpur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found