Raiganj Assembly Elections 2016

Traditionally a stronghold of Congress, Raiganj voters still favors Congress party thanks to the presence of the Congress leader former Union minister P R Dasmunshi and his wife Deepa Dasmushi,. However, the party can face stiff challenge from the CPM, BJP and Trinamool Congress in the coming 2016 assembly elections.

Raiganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Mohit Sengupta INC Won
Purnendu Dey (Bablu) AITC 36736
Pradip Sarkar BJP 12961
Arun Chandra Dey SP 6154
None of the Above None of the Above 1985
Hari Charan Das KPP(U) 1180
Swapan Kumar Das BSP 990
Benoy Kumar Das IND 692
Sanatan Dutta SUCI(C) 487

Raiganj assembly seat is currently held by its sitting MLA Mohit Sengupta who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of the Congress by defeating Kiranmoy Nanda of Samajwadi Party by a simple margin of 5409 votes. In that election Kiranmoy Nanda, former west Bengal minister, polled 57455 votes to come second and was followed by BJP’s Sachindra Nath Das who managed to secure only 3,053 votes.

Mohit Sengupta also happens to be the president of North Dinajpur district. Kiranmoy Nanda had been elected from the Mugberia assembly seat consecutively seven times. SP had contested five seats in 2011 and won only the Bhagabangola assembly seat.

Raiganj has been under control of Congress since 1996.

One of the 9 assembly segments located in the Uttar Dinajpur district of West Bengal, Raiganj is one of the seven assembly constituencies that fall under the parliamentary constituency of the same name.

Raiganj assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Raiganj municipality, and Maraikup, Bahin, Kamalabati I, Gouri and Kamalabati II gram panchayats of Raiganj block.

According to figures released by Election Commission of India in 2014, Raiganj has a total electorate of 1, 65,806. Of them, 85,854 were male voters and 79,941 were women.

Raiganj Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found