Raghunathpur Assembly Elections 2016

Trinamool Congress is well placed in Raghunathpur assembly constituency. The party has also won in the Raghunathpur municipality, which is a part of the assembly constituency. However, if there is an alliance between Left and the Congress in West Bengal, it may spell trouble for TMC. This is because the combined vote shares of the CPM and the Congress achieved by them in the Raghunathpur assembly seat in 2014 Lok Sabha polls exceeds that of Trinamool Congress. Even though BJP is not in a position to win, it may upset the calculations of the other parties.

Raghunathpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Purna Chandra Bauri AITC Won
Satyanarayan Bauri CPM 67546
Subhas Chandra Mondal BJP 24912
None of the Above None of the Above 5152
Kishta Bauri SUCI(C) 4664
Gobordhan Bagdi JMM 3735
Mahadeb Bauri BSP 3187

Currently, Raghunathpur is held TMC’s Purna Chandra Bauri who wrested the seat from the CPM by defeating its candidate Dipali Bauri by a convincing margin of 12743 votes in a bipolar contest. While Purna Chandra Bauri secured 78096 votes, 65353 votes were polled by the CPM nominee who was distantly followed by BJP’s Subhas Chandra Mondal who managed to get only 7,916 votes.

Earlier, CPM had been winning the Raghunathpur assembly seat since 1982.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Raghunathpur is one of the 9 assembly constituencies located in the Purulia district of West Bengal. This rural constituency is formed by the areas covered by Raghunathpur municipality and the blocks of Raghunathpur 1, Santuri and Neturia.

Though located in Purulia, Raghunathpur is one of the seven assembly segments falling under Bankura parliamentary constituency. In the 2011 assembly election to Raghunathpur, there was a total electorate of 198409. Of them, 105655 were males and the rest were female voters who numbered at 92754.

Raghunathpur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found