Raghunathganj Assembly Elections 2016

So far as the upcoming 2016 assembly election to Raghunathganj assembly seat is concerned, it all depends on how the new political equations in west Bengal take shape. At a first look Congress seems to be likely winner due to the influence of Baharampur Congress MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury. However, if there is a division of votes between Trinamool Congress and Congress, it may enhance the chances of the Revolutionary Socialist Party, a constituent of the Left Front. The BJP is not a competitive force in Raghunathganj.

Raghunathganj Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Akhruzzaman INC Won
Abul Kasem Molla AITC 54711
Abul Hasnat RSP 16474
Golam Modashbar BJP 10073
Mojibur Rahaman SDPI 2454
None of the Above None of the Above 2396
Rabiul Alam SUCI(C) 269

Akhruzzaman is the sitting Congress MLA of Raghunathganj which he won by defeating CPM candidate Abul Hasnat by a comfortable margin of 15540 votes in a bipolar contest in 2011. While 74683 votes were received by Akhruzzaman, Abul Hasnat polled 59143 votes. Md. Jakir Hossain of Social Democratic Party of India (SDPI), an identity-based party, was placed third with 6,093 votes.

Earlier Abul Hasnat has won Jangipur assembly seat in 2001 and 2006.

One of the seven assembly segments that fall under the Jangipur Lok Sabha constituency in West Bengal, Raghunathganj is composed of Raghunathganj - 2 block, Maiya gram panchayat of Lalgola block and Nurpur gram panchayat of Suti -1 block.

Raghunathganj, which came into existence before 2011 assembly elections on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, has an electorate of 168860. Out of the total electors, 87468 are male voters. The rest of the electors are females who number at 81392. 70 percent of the electors are Muslims.

Raghunathganj Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found