Pursurah Assembly Elections 2016

Internal factionalism in the Trinamool Congress has the potential of harming the prospects of the party in the coming assembly elections. Pursurah MLA Parvez Rahman and Arambagh MP Aparupa Poddar are at odds with each other. However, CPM equally finds itself in a predicament. The party is still divorced from the masses that deserted them in 2011. BJP and Congress are on weak wickets in Pursurah assembly constituency.

Pursurah Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Dr. M. Nuruzzaman AITC Won
Nota Nota 3646

Pursurah is currently held by TMC whose candidate Parvez Rahman won it in 2011 by defeating his nearest rival and then sitting MLA Saumendranath Bera by 31690 votes. in that election, while 107794 were polled by Parvez Rahman, Saumendranath Bera secured 76104 votes and was followed by the BJP’s Sukumar Dhara who got 7718 votes.

Earlier, the seat was represented from 2006 to 2011 by Saumendranath Bera who had defeated Parvez Rahman. Nimai Mal of CPM had won the seat in 1996 and 2001.

Pursurah is one of eighteen assembly segments in the Hooghly district of West Bengal. Pursurah block is covered by the assembly constituency which also contains Balipur, Arunda, Tantisal, Rammohan I and Rammohan II gram panchayats of Khanakul- 1 block as well as Harinkhola- 1 and Harinkhola- 2 gram panchayats of Arambagh block.

Pursurah is one of the seven assembly segments in the Arambagh Lok Sabha constituency. Haripal, Tarakeswar, Pursurah, Arambag and Khanakul are other six assembly segments.

In the 2011 assembly election to Pursurah, the constituency had 214053 voters, out of whom 111566 were males and 102487 were females.

Pursurah Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found