Purbasthali Dakshin Assembly Elections 2016

Compared to other assembly constituencies in West Bengal, Purbasthali Dakshin always has a presence of BJP which had led from this seat in 2014 Lok Sabha polls. Once a stronghold of former Left Front Minister Nirupam Sen, Purbasthali Dakshin is under the control of Trinamool Congress which is going all out to retain the seta in the coming 2016 assembly elections.

Purbasthali Dakshin Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Swapan Debnath AITC Won
Abhijit Bhattacharyya INC 66732
Rajib Kumar Bhowmick BJP 19003
Nota Nota 1916
Nasimul Gani Sayed PDS 1555
Jiyadul Seikh CPI(ML)(L) 1318
Manoranjan Boll BSP 1223
Ram Hansda IND 796
Abul Kalam Seikh IND 602

West Bengal minister and senior TMC leader Swapan Debnath is the sitting MLA of Purbasthali Dakshin which was won by him in the only election to the seat held in 2011. In that election, he had defeated his nearest rival Aleaya Begam of the CPM by a convincing margin of 15858 votes. In that election while 86039 votes were polled by Swapan Debnath, the CPM nominee secured 70181 votes and was followed by BJP’s Mahadeb Basak who got 10,765 votes.

One of twenty-five assembly constituencies located in the Bardhaman district of West Bengal, Purbasthali Dakshin is constituted by the areas covered by Nandai, Begpur, Kankuria, Atghoria Simlan, Sultanpur and Dhatrigram gram panchayats of Kalna- 1 block and Samudragarh, Nasratpur, Bagpur, Nadanghat and Sreerampur gram panchayats of Purbasthali 1 block.

Purbasthali Dakshin is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the Bardhaman Purba Lok Sabha constituency. Purbasthali Dakshin came into being before 2011 on the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission.

In 2011 assembly election, the semi-urban constituency of Purbasthali Dakshin had an electorate of 191256, out of which 100893 were males and 90363 were female voters.

Purbasthali Dakshin Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found