Patharpratima Assembly Elections 2016

A keen contest between Trinamool Congress and the CPM is on cards in the Patharpratima assembly constituerncy for the upcoming 2016 assembly elections. Though the TMC had led from the segment in 2014 parliamentary polls, the CPM still has a formidable presence. Anti-incumbency and the alliance between Congress and Left Front can stand the CPM in good stead. The BJP does not have much of a presence in the constituency.

Patharpratima Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Samir Kumar Jana AITC Won
Phanibhushan Giri INC 93802
Sridhar Chandra Bagari BJP 6942
Pabitra Maity SUCI(C) 1895
Nota Nota 1377

Samir Jana is the sitting TMC MLA of Kakdwip assembly seat which he won by defeating the sitting CPM MLA Jajneswar Das by a margin of 14773 votes in 2011. In that election, while Samir Jana polled 95422 votes, Jajneswar Das received 80649 votes and was followed by BJP’s Mantu Ram Gayen who got just 3,553 votes.

Earlier Jajneswar Das had defeated Samir Jana in a bye-election in 1999 as well 2001 and 2006.

One of the thirty-one assembly constituencies located in the South 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Patharpratima is formed by the areas covered by Patharpratima block.

Patharpratima is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Mathurapur which is reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled castes. Raidighi, Kakdwip, Sagar, Kulpi, Mandirbazar and Magrahat Paschim are the other six assembly constituencies within Mathurapur Lok Sabha seat.

In the 2011 assembly election to Patharpratima, the constituency had an electorate of. 199486. Out of the total electors, 104585 were males and the rest were female voters who number stood at 94901.

Patharpratima Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found