Patashpur Assembly Elections 2016

Before 2011, Patashpur assembly constituency was once a stronghold of the Communist Party of India (CPI), one of the constituents in the Left Front. After its win in 2011 Trinamool Congress (TMC) has established its complete sway in the constituency. The coming 2016 assembly election to Patashpur will be a close fight between TMC and CPI. Others don’t stand any chance.

Patashpur Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Jyotirmoy Kar AITC Won
Makhanlal Nayak CPI 73679
Swapan Kumar Dutta BJP 10193
Nota Nota 1112
Surjyendu Bikash Patra SUCI(C) 765
Subrata Guria IND 684

Patashpur is currently held by TMC’s Jyotirmoy Kar who wrested the seat from the CPI in 2011 by defeating its candidate Makhan Lal Nayak by a simple margin of 6650 votes in a bipolar contest. While Jyotirmoy Kar, who seriously injured in 2014, received 84452 votes, the CPI nominee managed to get 77802 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Asish Das who got 4,104 votes and lost his deposit along with the other three independent candidates who were also in the fray.

Earlier Kamakhya Nandan Das Mahapatra had been elected from the Patashpur constituency six times in a row from 1982.

One of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Purba Medinipur of west Bengal, Patashpur is constituted by areas covered by Patashpur- 1 block and Khargram, Pataspur, Panchet, Sreerampur and South Khanda gram panchayats of Patashpur -2 block.

Patashpur is one of the seven assembly segments the combination of which creates the Lok Sabha constituency of Kanthi.

In the 2011 assembly election to Patashpur, there was a total electorate of 182774. Out of the total electors, 95585 were males and 87189 were females.

Patashpur Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found