Panihati Assembly Elections 2016

After winning the Panihati assembly seat in 2011, Trinamool Congress continued its winning streak in 2013 when it wrested from the CPM the Panihati municipality which forms part of the constituency. Before its defeat in 2013, the CPM had been ruling the municipality for 47 years. BJP has also certain pockets of influence and will try to make the contest a triangular one.

Panihati Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Nirmal Ghosh AITC Won
Sanmoy Bandyopadhyay INC 70515
Dipak Kumar Kundu (Bapi Kundu) BJP 14905
Nota Nota 2854
Jagadish Roy BSP 1797
Mr. Rajarshi Goswami AAP 935

Nirmal Ghosh is the sitting TMC MLA of Panihati assembly seat which he wrested from the CPM by defeating its candidate and his nearest rival Ahibhusan Chakraborty by a good margin of 31432 votes in 2011. In that election, while Nirmal Ghosh polled 88334 votes, the CPM nominee received 56902 votes and was followed by BJP’s Kishor Kumar Shaw who got just 3,759 votes.

Nirmal Ghosh, who had also won the Panihati assembly seat 1996 and 2001, has once again nominated by the TMC to contest the coming 2016 assembly election to the constituency.

Located in North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Panihati assembly constituency is formed the areas covered by Ward Nos.1-14, 16, 17 and 22 to 34 of Panihati municipality.

Panihati is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Dum Dum. Rajarhat Gopalpur , Khardaha, Dum Dum Uttar, Kamarhati, Baranagar and Dum Dum are other six assembly constituencies within Dum Dum Lok Sabha constituency.

In the 2011 assembly election to Panihati, there was a total electorate of 186741. Out of the total electors, 97020 were males and 89721 were females.

Panihati Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found