Pandabeswar Assembly Elections 2016

With regards to the upcoming assembly elections, it can be safely said that the CPIM still enjoys the slight edge in the Pandabeswar assembly segment particularly after its resurgence in recent months. The party had been able to win even amid the 2011 poribartan (change) wave. However, as the BJP is now in the reckoning, the fight will be intensely triangular. If the Muslim votes get split between TMC and CPIM, BJP might seen rise in its fortunes.

Pandabeswar Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Kumar Jitendra Tewari AITC Won
Gouranga Chatterjee CPM 63130
Jiten Chatterjee BJP 13604
Nota Nota 2653
Asim Kumar Bhattacharjee SUCI(C) 1580
Purnendu Chaudhuri IND 1435
Moyna Ruidas BMP 1323

Pandabeswar was won by Gouranga Chatterjee of the CPM in the last assembly polls to West Bengal in 2011. In that election, he had polled 67240 votes to defeat his nearest TMC rival Md. Zahir Alam Ansari by 7811 votes. while 67,240 votes were polled in favour of Gouranga Chatterjee, the TMC nominee received 59,429 votes and was followed by BJP’s Ashish Garai who got 4,511 votes.

One of the twenty five assembly seats located in the in the Bardhamman district of West Bengal. Pandabeswar centres on Pandabeswar, Ukhara, Kajora, Kendra, Bahula, and Faridpur-Durgapur community development blocks.

Pandabeswar seat, which came into existence in place of erstwhile Ukhara assembly constituency before 2011 following the recommendations of the delimitation commission, is one of the seven assembly segments under the Asansol parliamentary constituency, one of the two out of the forty two Lok Sabha seats claimed by BJP in West Bengal.

Pandabeswar is marked by mix population of coal miners, factory workers, Hindi speaking and Muslim voters. There is also a substantial rural population.

Pandabeswar Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found