Noapara Assembly Elections 2016

That Trinamool Congress (TMC) is well placed in the Noapara assembly constituency is evident from the fact that in 2015 the party had emerged victorious in the municipal elections to the North Barrackpur municipality and Garulia municipality which are parts of the Noapara assembly constituency. The forthcoming assembly election to Noapara in 2016 is all set to witness a direct contest between TMC and CPM.B JP has also become a competitive force in the constituency.

Noapara Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Madhusudan Ghose INC Won
Manju Basu AITC 78453
Amiya Sarkar BJP 23579
Nota Nota 3236
Bulu Sarkar BSP 2429
Uday Veer Choudhury IND 1948

Noapara assembly seat is currently held by Manju Basu who wrested the seat from the CPM in 2011 by defeating its sitting MLA Kusadhwaj Ghosh by a huge margin of 41148 votes. While 100369 votes were received by Manju Basu, Kusadhwaj Ghosh got 59221 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Swapan Halder who received only 7,594 votes.

Earlier Manju Basu was elected in 2001. She lost to Kusadhwaj Ghosh in 2006.

North Barrackpur municipality and Garulia municipality are covered by the Noapara assembly constituency which also contains Ichhapur Defence Estate, Barrackpur Cantonment and Mohanpur and Seuli gram panchayats of Barrackpore- 2 block.

One of the assembly constituencies located in the North-24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Noapara is one of the seven assembly segments in the Barrackpore parliamentary constituency. Amdanga, Bijpur, Naihati, Bhatpara, Jagatdal and Barrackpur are the other six assembly constituencies within Barrackpore Lok Sabha constituency.

According to the latest figures released by the Election Commission of India, Noapara assembly constituency has a total electorate of 2,05,070, out of which 1,07,953 are male voters and 97,117 are females.

Noapara Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found