Nayagram Assembly Elections 2016

Though Trinamool Congress managed to win the Nayagram seat in last assembly elections riding on the strong anti-left sentiments raging in the Maoist affected areas in the West Medinipur district in West Bengal, the party is not in a comfortable position due to the lack of development in the area. However, what favors the TMC is the decline of the opposition parties especially the Left Front.

Nayagram Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Dulal Murmu AITC Won
Bakul Murmu BJP 55140
Manoj Kumar Tudu INC 14094
Nota Nota 1573
Naran Hembram SUCI(C) 1451
Ramesh Chandra Sing IND 1302
Rupai Hembram IND 1173

Nayagram assembly seat is currently held by TMC’s Dulal Murmu who wrested the seat from the CPM by defeating its sitting MLA Bhutnath Saren by a margin of 16274 votes in 2011 in a bipolar contest. While Dulal Murmu, a former Jharkhand Party member before joining TMC, polled 75656 votes, Bhutnath Saren secured votes and was followed by BJP’s Chitta Ranjan Hembram who received 8,304 votes.

Earlier Bhutnath Saren had been elected from the Nayagram assembly constituency in 2001 and 2006. As is the case with most assembly seats in West Bengal, Nayagram had been electing CPM candidates since 1977.

Located in the Paschim Medinipur district in West Bengal, Nayagram assembly constituency is reserved for the candidates belonging to scheduled tribes. The constituency is formed by areas covered by blocks of Nayagram and Gopiballavpur 1, and Kuliana, Chorchita and Nota gram panchayats of Gopiballavpur 2 block.

Nayagram is one of the seven assembly segments whose combination creates the parliamentary constituency of Jhargram.

175005 people were eligible to votes in 2011 assembly election to Nayagram. Of them 90294 were male voters and 84711 were women.

Nayagram Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found