Naihati Assembly Elections 2016

That Trinamool Congress continues to be dominant force in Naihati assembly constituency can be gauged from the fact that in the 2015 civic poll to Naihati municipality, a part of the assembly constituency, TMC had emerged victorious. The party is all set to capitalize on the division of votes among the opposition parties in the 2016 parliamentary elections. In the case of an alliance with the Congress, CPM may be able to give a tough fight.

Naihati Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Partha Bhowmick AITC Won
Gargi Chatterjee CPM 45429
Phalguni Patra BJP 19972
Nota Nota 2463
Subrata Dhak IND 1494
Sarit Chakraborty (Babli) CPI(ML)(L) 1191
Haripada Biswas BSP 856
Raghunath Mandi IND 599
Ananda Sarkar IND 340

Currently Naihati is represented in the legislative assembly by TMC MLA Partha Bhowmick who wrested the seat from CPM by defeating its sitting legislator Ranjit Kundu by a handsome margin of 27823 votes in a bipolar election in 2011. While Partha Bhowmick polled 75,842 votes, Ranjit Kundu secured 48,012 votes and was distantly followed by BJP’s Biswajit Sur who got just 2,821 votes.

Earlier Ranjit Kundu had represented the Naihati seat from 1996 to 2011.

Located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Naihati assembly constituency is constituted by the areas covered by Naihati municipality as well as Kampa-Chakla, Jethia, Majhipara–Palasi and Shibdaspur gram panchayats of Barrackpore- 1 block.

Naihati is one of the seven assembly segments falling under the parliamentary seat of Barrackpore, currently represented in the Lok Sabha by TMC MP and former Railway Minister Dinesh Trivedi. Other six assembly segments in the Barrackpore Lok Sabha seat are Bijpur, Bhatpara, Noapara, Jagatdal, Barrackpur and Amdanga.

153264 people were eligible to votes in 2011 assembly election to Naihati. Of them, 81151 were male voters and 72113 were women.

Naihati Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found