Moyna Assembly Elections 2016

Like many of the assembly constituencies in the Purba Medinipur district of West Bengal, Trinamool Congress (TMC) is well placed in Moyna assembly constituency. It was from Nandigram in the district that paved the way for the coming of TMC to power in West Bengal. It would be a bipolar fight between TMC and CPM in the coming 2016 assembly election to Moyna. The Congress and BJP do not stand any chance.

Moyna Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Sangram Kumar Dolai AITC Won
Manik Bhowmik INC 88856
Das Sukesh Ranjan BJP 6506
Nimai Guria BNP 1907
Madan Samanta SUCI(C) 1524
Nota Nota 1182

Moyna is currently represented in the legislative assembly of West Bengal by its sitting MLA Bhusan Chandra Dolai who won the seat in 2011 on behalf of the TMC by defeating of CPM sitting MLA Sk. Mujibur Rahman by a margin of 9957 votes. In that election while Bhusan Chandra Dolai received 95640 votes, 81,081 votes were polled in favour of Sk. Mujibur Rahman who was followed by BJP’s Asit Pattanayak who had only 4,626 votes in his kitty.

Moyna had elected CPM legislator Sk. Mujibur Rahman in 2006 whereas Dipak Bera of the same party was elected in 1996 and 2001.

One of the sixteen assembly constituencies located in the Purba Medinipur of west Bengal, Moyna assembly constituency is formed by areas covered by Moyna block as well as Nilkunthia, Anantapur I, Anantapur II, Sreerampur I and Sreerampur II gram panchayats of Tamluk block.

Moyna is one of the seven assembly segments that are within the jurisdiction of the Tamluk parliamentary constituency currently represented by Suvendu Adhikari of TMC.

In the 2011 assembly poll to Moyna, there was a total electorate of 196999. Out of the total electors, 102699 were males and 94300 were females.

Moyna Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found