Mothabari Assembly Elections 2016

With regards to the upcoming assembly elections, it can be said with absolute certainty that the Congress still enjoys the edge in the Mothabari assembly segment. Sabina Yasmin is a force to reckon with but faces strong opposition from within in Abu Hashem Khan Chowdhury, a brother of former Union minster and Congress heavyweight A B A Ghani Khan Chadhury who had supported Shehnaz Quader in 2011. She is a part of Rahul Gandhi at whose behest she was preferred to Shehnaz Quader, a niece of Ghani Khan.

Mothabari Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Yeasmin Sabina INC Won
Md. Najrul Islam AITC 30915
Shyam Chand Ghosh BJP 27309
Nota Nota 1859
Dinesh Kumar Jaju BSP 1123
Anharul Haque IND 1061
Prem Kumar Ghosh SHS 905
Shyama Pada Saha IND 584
Saiyad Samser HKD 578

Mothabari assembly seat was won by Sabina Yasmin of the Congress in the last assembly election in 2011. In that election, she had polled 47466 votes to defeat her nearest CPM rival Naimuddin Sheikh by 6020 votes. Shehnaz Quader who entered the fray as an independent came third with 8,505 votes. Sabina Yasmin, the first Muslim woman minister in West Bengal Government, had resigned from the Mamata government when her party decided to pull out the government.

One of the twelve assembly seats located in the in the Malda district of West Bengal. Mothabari is composed of Kaliachak-2 block, and Kaliachak-1 and Alinagar of Kaliachak-1 block.

Mothabari, which came into existence before 2011 general assembly polls following the recommendations of the Delimitation Commission, is one of the seven assembly segments under the Maldaha Dakshin parliamentary constituency which had elected Abu Hasem Khan Choudhury of the Congress in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

In 2011 assembly election, Mothabari had an electorate of 134966, out of whom 70011 were male voters and 64955 were females.

Mothabari Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found