Minakhan Assembly Elections 2016

Minakhan went in favour of the Trinamool Congress in the last assembly elections in 2011. Both the TMC and CPM are equally poised to win the seat in the coming 2016 assembly elections. Of late the BJP has made significant inroads and cannot be taken lightly. The party can eat into the votes of both TMC and the CPM. An alliance with the Congress may increase the chances of the CPM. The constituency has witnessed political violence in recent years.

Minakhan Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Usha Rani Mondal AITC Won
Dinabandhu Mondal CPM 60612
Jayanta Mondal BJP 13566
Krishna Kinkar Das BSP 3995
Nota Nota 3718

Currently held by Usharani Mondal, Minakhan assembly seat had elected her in 2011 on behalf of TMC. In that election, while Usharani had polled 73533 votes to defeat her nearest rival and CPM candidate Dilip Roy by a margin of 7136 votes.

Bhabesh Patra, who entered the fray as a candidate of the BJP, came a distant third with 8,323 votes.

One of the thirty-four assembly constituencies located in the North-24 Parganas district in West Bengal, Minakhan is constituted by the areas covered by Minakhan block as well as Kulti, Bakjuri, Sonapukur and Shalipur gram panchayats of Haroa block.

Reserved for the candidates belonging to the scheduled castes, Minakhan is one of the seven assembly constituencies falling within the Basirhat parliamentary constituency/. Baduria, Haroa, Sandeshkhali , Basirhat Dakshin, Basirhat Uttar and Hingalganj are other siox assembly cosntituenices located within Basirhat Lok Sabha seat.

In the 2011 assembly election to Minakhan, the constituency had a total electorate of 164562. Of them, 87605 were males and 76957 were female voters.

Minakhan Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found