Metiaburuz Assembly Elections 2016

There will be a direct contest between the Trinamool Congress and CPIM in the coming assembly poll to Metiaburuz in 2016. Despite not so good performance of the TMC, the party still enjoys an edge in the constituency. Though Congress is a strong force in its former Garden Reach MLA Abdul Khaleque Mollah, the party is still lagging behind. BJP doesnít stand a chance.

Metiaburuz Assembly Election Candidates List and Results

Name of the Candidate Party Name Results
Abdul Khaleque Molla AITC Won
Monirul Islam CPM 61773
Sanjay Singh BJP 13259
Nota Nota 2755
Ahammad Ali Molla IND 1110
Abdul Rahim IUML 939
Bedar Bakht RLD 703

Metiaburuz is currently held by Trinamool Congressís Mumtaz Begum who had won the seat in 2011 by defeating Badruddoza Mollah of the CPIM by 6594 votes. While Mumtaz Begum, an ex Congress councillor of Kolkata Municipal Corporation before joining TMC, polled 55,003 votes, the CPM nominee received 48,409 votes and was followed by Abdul Khaleque Mollah, then incumbent Congress MLA from the erstwhile Garden Reach assembly constituency.

Abdul Khaleque Mollah, who entered the fray as an Independent after the seat was allotted to the TMC, got 24,143 votes. The BJP which had fielded a Muslim candidate was distantly placed with just 3139 votes.

Metiaburuz, which was carved out of the erstwhile Garden Reach constituency before 2011, is one of the seven assembly segments in the Diamond Harbour Lok Sabha constituency.

Located in the North 24 Parganas district of West Bengal, Metiaburuz is formed by wards 136 to 141 of Kolkata Municipal Corporation and some wards of adjoining Mahestala Municipality.

This Muslim-dominated constituency has an electorate of 182250, out of whom 102140 are male and 80110 are female voters. 70% of the voters are engaged in tailoring business.

Metiaburuz Assembly Election Videos 2016

No News Found